Help support TMP


"Simple Skirmish System S3 -rules for download" Topic


10 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Playtest Message Board


392 hits since 11 Jan 2012
©1994-2014 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Big Ian11 Jan 2012 6:13 a.m. PST

These are set pf skirmish rules i have been tinkering with for ages. Still a long way to go,before they are complete but worth sharing.

Can be found at my blog here:

steelcitywargaming.blogspot.com

Enjoy!

Personal logo Angel Barracks Sponsoring Member of TMP11 Jan 2012 6:22 a.m. PST

Downloaded, will read later!


Thanks for sharing.

:D

Terrement Supporting Member of TMP11 Jan 2012 7:46 a.m. PST

I'll give 'em a look – always interested in others rules and approaches to handling things.

JJ

Personal logo herkybird Supporting Member of TMP11 Jan 2012 2:24 p.m. PST

Thanks for showing this, you have some innovative and interesting concepts in it.

I will be interested to see how it develops!

Personal logo Angel Barracks Sponsoring Member of TMP11 Jan 2012 4:05 p.m. PST

Indeed, the range system is a nice idea.

Big Ian11 Jan 2012 11:19 p.m. PST

You are all welcome, if you have any questions, please post them here and i will try to answer them as quick as i can.

Ian

Personal logo Angel Barracks Sponsoring Member of TMP12 Jan 2012 12:01 a.m. PST

In the rallying it says a unit rallies on a 1, 2, 3, or 4.
Then you roll a d6 for each figure that rallies (ie did not roll a 5 or 6) on a 1 or 2 they are removed as casualties, otherwise they are ok.

What happens to those that roll a 5 or 6 the first time?

Big Ian12 Jan 2012 3:13 a.m. PST

AB, those that rolled 5or6 first time are still "pinned" effectly they can't perform any actions until they rally at which point they could no longer be operational – i.e. a casualty or become active again. Failing to rally also means the turn passes to the opponent.
It has a two fold effect in game play were you need your troops to do something but if you fail to rally it could mess your plans up but it also has that element of not knowing if the rallied troops are still alive to perform actions you require. However having said that if they rally and are found dead you still can take another turn.
I might take a deep look at this and try to get some explainations added.

Cheers,

Ian

Personal logo Angel Barracks Sponsoring Member of TMP12 Jan 2012 4:48 a.m. PST

Thanks.
When a unit may move as far as it likes until it hits an object and then the enemy may fire..

What if the unit moves from hidden to hidden but passes through enemy LOS.
It says that the enemy can shoot at figures that moved once they have finished their move, but what if it can no longer see them?
Can it fire mid-move whilst the target is still visible?

Big Ian12 Jan 2012 5:02 a.m. PST

That is a good point, originally we played were you fire after the movement of the opposition, how ever because you can techincally move as far as you want it didn't work properly.
We have been playing it as 'mid move' interuption recently.
I will have think on how to structure that part so it become more clear in the text.

Thanks for the feedback, i really appreciate it.

Ian

Sorry - only trusted members can post on the forums.