Help support TMP

"Have you ever really completed a wargaming period?" Topic

29 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the Wargaming in General Message Board

Action Log

10 Jul 2015 3:08 p.m. PST
by Editor in Chief Bill

  • Removed from TMP Poll Suggestions board
  • Crossposted to Wargaming in General board

Areas of Interest


1,070 hits since 22 Dec 2011
©1994-2019 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Old Contemptibles Supporting Member of TMP23 Dec 2011 12:33 a.m. PST

Every time I think I am done with a period there is something else I have to buy and paint. It never ends. Can anyone say they have truly completed a period?

greatwhitezulu23 Dec 2011 12:52 a.m. PST

No. There is always one more unit to paint grin

GarrisonMiniatures23 Dec 2011 2:53 a.m. PST

I do Ancients, so one more unit becomes one more army.

Martin Rapier23 Dec 2011 3:01 a.m. PST

I can think of 'armies' of mine which haven't had any additions for some considerable time (decades, multiple decades), so I guess for whatever reason those are now complete.

This tends to apply to more niche periods/scales etc.

Most of the more mainstream stuff keeps on growing in fits and starts. I have so far managed to stick to my resolve to never, ever paint a Gallic cavalryman again though.

Andrew Beasley23 Dec 2011 3:07 a.m. PST

Given that the word still exists / I am still here (strike out as you think fit) then No

Closest I every got was having every part of the old Star Fleet Battles rules (inc Nexus Mags etc) but did not have all the ship models!

I do have a few small games that are complete as they are closed one off's but even then I think about collecting the figures / terrain to do it in 3D…

Flat Beer and Cold Pizza23 Dec 2011 3:52 a.m. PST

To paraphrase Picasso: "I never complete a project; I abandon it."

ZULUPAUL Supporting Member of TMP23 Dec 2011 3:57 a.m. PST

The phrase "competed a wargaming period" surely was made in jest!

geudens23 Dec 2011 4:34 a.m. PST

Sorry, Rallynow, but that would take all the fun out of it…

rvandusen23 Dec 2011 4:46 a.m. PST

Surely no. Just when I think something is done, someone appears with a new range that must be added.

Ashokmarine23 Dec 2011 5:22 a.m. PST


FusilierDan Supporting Member of TMP23 Dec 2011 5:25 a.m. PST


Connard Sage23 Dec 2011 5:40 a.m. PST
Charles Marlow23 Dec 2011 5:53 a.m. PST

No, and I've come to accept it.

Cold Steel23 Dec 2011 6:06 a.m. PST

What a strange question.

Sundance23 Dec 2011 6:16 a.m. PST

Heck no!

Skipper23 Dec 2011 7:10 a.m. PST

I finally finished my 40K and WFB range… if I can just find someone to unload it on!!!

Otherwise, I'm never done, only periods of holidays were the figures take extended vacations in storage.


Pictors Studio23 Dec 2011 7:32 a.m. PST

Sort of. I have all the ships I need to do Plum Point Bend in 1/600th scale. I have the terrain. So it is complete, more or less. But I could still use sunken ships to replace all the ships with in the game.

mad monkey 123 Dec 2011 7:53 a.m. PST


21eRegt23 Dec 2011 7:56 a.m. PST

Certainly not. Games and periods cycle in and out of favor with me or the group, but I'm always open to old favorites.

John the OFM23 Dec 2011 8:01 a.m. PST

Obviously this is not a serious Poll Suggestion.

Broadsword23 Dec 2011 8:08 a.m. PST


WarWizard23 Dec 2011 8:54 a.m. PST

Not yet. But there is always next year.

Personal logo Lentulus Supporting Member of TMP23 Dec 2011 12:49 p.m. PST

There's the few I shut down because I was never going to get to a game-able state. The ones that have been gamed? No.

LHMGKodiak23 Dec 2011 2:16 p.m. PST


Mister X23 Dec 2011 9:35 p.m. PST

Nope. How could I possibly "complete" WWII or any war, even a tiny war. I do get bored or run out of steam sometimes…

Andrew Beasley24 Dec 2011 6:05 a.m. PST

I finally finished my 40K and WFB range… if I can just find someone to unload it on!!!

Till the next codex…

Oddball24 Dec 2011 6:32 a.m. PST

No really, there always seems to be one or two more units to put together before "I'm done", but I will move on to another period before that happens.

Maybe the 1812 US/British armies I'm putting together will be the first as the troops numbers are pretty small.

vtsaogames24 Dec 2011 8:37 a.m. PST

No can do.

Saxondog24 Dec 2011 2:11 p.m. PST

Completed to current satisfaction? Yes. Completed to ultimate desire? No.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.