Help support TMP


"AAG: Shawn or Robby, a question about Morale Checks" Topic


6 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the SF Discussion Message Board



582 hits since 17 Oct 2011
©1994-2017 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Tgunner Supporting Member of TMP17 Oct 2011 6:30 p.m. PST

Hey guys, Goober, on another thread:
TMP link

Noticed that the Morale rules in "Tomorrow's War" say something like this:

"When a unit is called upon to make a Morale Check, it must roll a Morale Die for each figure in the unit and consult the appropriate Morale Effects rules"

Whereas "Force on Force" says this:

"When a unit is called upon to make a Morale Check it must roll a Morale Die for each combat effective figure in the unit and consult the appropriate Morale Effects rules to determine the Morale Check's results."

Basically "Tomorrow's War" is saying that a unit taking a Morale Check rolls a die for each FIGURE in the unit where "Force on Force" says that only "combat effective" figures contribute a die to Morale Checks.

Is this an intentional change back to "Ambush Alley" and older AAG games or is it simply an old rule that was changed with "Force on Force" but somehow it managed to reappear in "Tomorrow's War" by mistake?

Chef Lackey Rich Fezian Inactive Member17 Oct 2011 6:50 p.m. PST

I'm neither of them, but there are some exceptions to the "every figure" rule in TW. Seriously wounded figs don't contribute dice to morale checks (pg 66) nor do robots attached to a unit of organic troops (although Smartbots operating on their own do test morale). So no, it's not a change, combat ineffective casualties don't add dice.

Goober18 Oct 2011 3:04 a.m. PST

The key difference, though, is that the TW wording does not include the phrase "each combat effective figure", it just says "each figure". It does later go on to say that seriously wounded figures don't contribute, but mentions nothing about casualties who have yet to make a first aid roll.

I agree that "combat effective" makes sense, but that's not what it says.

G.

Ambush Alley Games Inactive Member18 Oct 2011 5:05 a.m. PST

It should read "combat effective figure," as it does in Force on Force. That's an editing error. Sorry for any confusion it caused!

We'll get an errata sheet/FAQ posted on our website as soon as possible.

Best,

Shawn.

Tgunner Supporting Member of TMP18 Oct 2011 2:30 p.m. PST

Well, there you go Goober, right from Shawn. You found a bug, great job.

Thanks Shawn!

Goober18 Oct 2011 4:27 p.m. PST

Thanks all. Original thread, and blog review updated with new info.

G.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.