Help support TMP

"L'art de la guerre question" Topic

l'Art de la Guerre

6 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the ADLG (l'Art de la Guerre) Rules Board

Areas of Interest


Featured Hobby News Article

Featured Link

Top-Rated Ruleset

Days of Knights

Rating: gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star 

Current Poll

679 hits since 3 Jan 2017
©1994-2022 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

corona6611 Sep 2016 8:00 a.m. PST

Since registering for the LADG forum has proved somewhat akin to entering Fort Knox or the Pentagon, I'll ask my question here and hope that an LADG player will answer. I am currently reading in to the rule book and have found that generals seem to be treated differently from DBX. All of my generals are based for DBX with an integral fighting value, but LADG generals appear to have no fighting value. Is this the case or am I missing something?
Thanks in advance.

Todd63611 Sep 2016 8:18 a.m. PST

Leaders in LADG give orders to and rally units and +1 to combat when attached. Or were you asking something completly different?

corona6611 Sep 2016 8:36 a.m. PST

Thanks for the fast response Todd. As you may already know, generals in DBX are fighting units in their own right and can enter combat on their own
From your answer I understand that LADG generals can only add to a unit's combat value and not enter combat by themselves. That is what I thought the rules inferred. So I can use my generals on their rectangular bases but not as a fighting element,correct?

Todd63611 Sep 2016 8:47 a.m. PST

First, I am no expert on LADG. The Generals have no intrinsic combat value as in DBx. The only add +1 if attached to another combat unit. I use what I have based for DBx, so the Generals can be mounted any way you want. I think the leaders are more valuable for issuing orders than the +1 in combat. When I do get the chance and the figures, I do put my commanders on washer.

Personal logo Cardinal Ximenez Supporting Member of TMP11 Sep 2016 8:54 a.m. PST

You can use them for either depending on the army. Units with an asterisk can include the general in the unit. This saves points but automatically commits the general to melee if fighting an enemy element. See page 21 second paragraph and also pages 24 and 25 which explain important differences.

I've never minded players using a general that is not included in a unit but is based like one. Just let your opponent know which option you've chosen and paid for. Hope this helps.

corona6611 Sep 2016 11:43 a.m. PST

Thank you very much for supplying the clarity gentlemen.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.