"L'Art De La Guerre back in stock." Topic
All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.
For more information, see the TMP FAQ.
Back to the ADLG (l'Art de la Guerre) Rules Board
|NickNorthStar ||29 Sep 2016 4:00 a.m. PST|
L'art de la Guerre, the English language version, is back in print and at North Star now.
We're shipping a pile to On Military Matters in the USA today.
|Perris0707||29 Sep 2016 5:21 a.m. PST|
|Tarantella||29 Sep 2016 5:23 a.m. PST|
Is it a new edition with rule and army updates or a reprint of the "collectors" item in my posseession?
|NickNorthStar ||29 Sep 2016 1:36 p.m. PST|
It's a straight reprint of the English Language version. We'd have said if it was a second edition.
|madaxeman||01 Oct 2016 2:30 p.m. PST|
I spoke to Herve the author a couple of weeks ago. As there are no "changes" to the rules he didn't want to create a situation where there were 2 different "current versions", so the reprint is just that, a straight reprint and everyone will have access to the same FAQ and corrections sheet as before.
|notjustdon ||21 Nov 2016 4:20 p.m. PST|
Hi, I'm just starting on a great adventure…Art de la Guerre!
But one of the first things that has caught me out is in some of the army lists, we'll take Late Imperial Roman. It shows for the Legionnaire and the Auxillia an entry in the points for add support?! I've looked through all the rules and that sentence does not appear. The nearest I can get to it is add missile support which appears on page 18.
Is this what the add support is referring to and how is it best represented on the units?
|Mithridates||21 Nov 2016 4:48 p.m. PST|
We have also begun using ADLG and enjoy the game.
2 references to Missile Support, p18 and also p8. The Rule Book talks of an additional rank of light infantry, see diagram on p8.
|aynsley683 ||22 Nov 2016 5:24 a.m. PST|
As Mithridates says when you add missile support you are basically putting a Psiloi base attached at the back of whatever they are supporting.
For the Roman Legionaires you will have your double based Legionaires with a Ps at the back, or I had some Ps at the back of my double based Ashigaru medium spear men.
Not sure where it shows you in the rules, not having them in front of me presently.
|madaxeman||22 Nov 2016 10:17 a.m. PST|
The extra LF base is essentially a marker that represents the "missile support" capability in that unit – meaning that it can be moved aside if it gets in the way.
I guess you could also model some of your units with integral archers – but that would mean doubling-up on figures for something that is really only seen when you happen to have a few spare points kicking around after building your army list.