Rules Clarifications

This web page exists to answer rules questions for players of Bound For Glory. Answers which are official (that is, direct from the publisher or the designer) are marked like this; other answers are the best guesses of staffers here at THE MINIATURES PAGE.

If you have rules questions, please email them to us and we'll try to get an official answer for you.

During Step Two of the Sequence of Play, "Move Non-Engaged Brigades," pg. 3, do BOTH players move their brigades? Or does each player have his "own" turn?

A: Both sides move their brigades, until they either stop or come into engagement range of an enemy brigade. Then they must stop movement.

Changing Orders, pg. 13, step 1, how does the number of subordinate commanders affect the random order dieroll?

A: It adds that much to the time it takes to receive the order. If you are a Corp commander and you want to issue an order to one of your divisions then the base number is 1. If your were issueing to two divisions the number would be 2. This number is added to the random number, and that is the number of turns needed to change an order.

Changing Orders, pg. 13, step 2, does this mean -- "Measure the distance to the most distant subordinate commander. For every 40" or fraction thereof, add +1 to the dieroll"?

A: Yes.

It is often easier to issue orders to one subordinate at a time. Rather than doing such a blanket order, if the subords. are spread out and engaged in combat.

Rule 1.1.2, Divisional Commanders, pg. 14: Does this mean that steps 1 and 2 are ignored when division commanders issue orders?

A: Yes, Corp and Army commanders are normally further away from their subordinates and usually require the additional time for the messengers to find them on the field. Not to mention the normal hazards of flying metal.

With regard to Formations (rule 0.2, pg. 10) and Movement Rates, it appears that Attack Columns and March Columns move at the same rate. Is this correct?

A: No. On the charts under Movement rates - Terrain effects, Road Columns move at 1 1/2 times the rate on the road. Over the field there isn't any advantage.

(Whoops! We missed the note.)

On the Movement Rates chart, under what conditions can units claim the "charge" movement bonus? Could a unit "charge" for multiple turns? Can a unit charge in order to retreat further?

A: Well, normally a charge should put you within contact. We allow multiple charging, as a way of showing the units running toward the objective. But in doing so the units aren't allowed to fire until they are in contact.

Same chart: Presumably, the "road" rate applies to artillery using a road (and "field" applies to artillery not using a road). Must the unit stay on the road the entire turn in order to use the road rate?

A: They must stay on the road, they can unlimber on the road using the road bonus so that they have 6" to unlimber.

Same chart: What qualifies an artillery unit to use "gallop" rate? Are foot artillery units capable of galloping?

A: All units can gallop. There are a couple of ACW re-enactors in our group, one being an artilleryman who has assured me that the guns can move quickly. This allows units to be moved into position quickly. There is a +3" for horse.

Then why wouldn't a player have his units gallop every turn?

A: Artillery can gallop every turn. It will also be far from its supporting infantry units also. Units that gallop that turn are unable to unlimber.

During Step Two of the Sequence of Play, "Move Non-Engaged Brigades," pg. 3, is there any limit to where an Engaged unit can move? For instance, could it move within 18" of an enemy unit? If so, is it entitled to also move during Tactical Movement?

A: A non-engaged brigade must stop it if comes into engagement range of an enemy brigade. Now that it is Engaged, it is allowed to move during the next Tactical Movement Phase.

How do the terrain effects work? For instance, if a unit plans to move through both light and heavy woods on the same movement, which modifier applies?

A: Pro-rated movement.

If a unit on the edge of a woods moves into the open, does the woods penalty apply even though it spent most of its movement in the open?

A: If it starts on the edge then woods do not have to be paid for. If it starts at a distance greater than 1" it must pay for the woods using pro-rated movement.

On the Terrain Effects chart, does "NA" stands for "not allowed" or "not applicable"?

A: Not allowed.

On pg. 15, Rule 1.2, Attaching Leaders, the example refers to the attached leader not being able to receive or give orders. This limitation doesn't seem to be explained elsewhere in the rules. Could you amplify?

A: Only for the turn it either attaches or detaches. It is considered assuming command of whatever level it is moving to.

Tactical Command Points: I'm confused as to how a leader regains TCP's. On pg. 6, rule 0.1.6, Leader Ratings, it says that the leader's rating is "the number of Tactical Adjustments it may do per turn." Reading this, I would think that a "superior" leader could therefore spend 3 TCP's per turn. However, pg. 8, rule 0.1.9, Non-Engaged, mentions that brigade commanders recover 1 TCP per turn.

A: A leader regains his assigned number of points each turn. However, a leader's Assigned Points can change due to Leader Casualties -- that is, a 3-point leader might be knocked down to a 2-point leader due to casualties. That leader would still be able to spend 2 points per turn on leadership functions. Once he becomes Unengaged, however, he can regain his 3-point original rating (at the rate of one point per turn).

Tactical Adjustments: Rule 3.2 refers to "brigade commanders" being able to make adjustments. Are they the only ones? Can Corps or Division commanders make adjustments? Would a division leader attached to a brigade be considered a brigade commander for purpose of this rule?

A: Any commander attached can spend TCPs. When Divisonal, Corp, Army attach, its TCP is increased by one to represent using the brigade commanders staff and his rank effect on the men, etc. When a commanding officer attaches, he in effects becomes the brigade commander for TCPs.

Same rule: It says that "only one unit may be adjusted per turn." Is this one unit per side, or per brigade commander? Does "unit" mean brigade or regiment?

A: It means a unit may be adjusted once per turn. You can't rally and change formation with the same unit. Sorry for not being too clear on that. A commander can spend all TCPs on subordinate regiments, including attached artillery.

Rule 3.2, pg. 17, item #2, how does sending out skirmishers work?

A: Either a single stand or a whole unit whose stands are spread out with more than 1" apart.

Same rule, item #3, reference is made to Contracting Frontage, but is not explained. Does this mean a regiment could be pulled out of the front line?

A: Up to two regiments can be pulled from the flanks to positions behind the front units. Either two from one side or one from each. Do the opposite to expand the frontage. The units moved may not have TCPs spent on them but may change formation as part of the movement.

Same rule, can a unit move even though it doesn't have sufficient movement to reach the front line in the current move?

A: No, and it must pay all terrain costs.

Similarly, can the Relieve Unit be done only if the relieving unit has enough movement allowance to take the first unit's place?

A: The relieving unit moves toward the position, spending its movement as it goes. If it does not have enough movement, then it can continue moving next turn under the same order without the commander having to spend additional TCPs.

With regard to rule 3.2, does "unit" mean "regiment"? Must the regiment be part of the brigade being adjusted?

A: It must be under the command of the brigade commander to be adjusted. Unit is either a regiment, or an attached artillery battery or cavalry. Unit is any independent group of stand or stands. An attached company of sharpshooters can be a unit.

Pg. 18, item #6, assume the reference to "Cautious" should be "Inept"?

A: Yes.

Pg. 18, item #7, "Commander attached to regiments or batteries may not do any other type of TACTICAL ADJUSTMENTS other than to the unit it is attached to..." Not clear what is meant by "it." Can a leader attached to a regiment adjust other regiments in the first regiment's brigade?

A: No. Once attached to a regiment or artillery battery, or any unit (see above for unit definition), it may not affect any other unit.

If a leader has sufficient TCP's, can he rally a unit more than once per turn?

A: No. No unit may have more than one TCP spent on it each turn.

On the Initiative Modifiers chart, it says "per brigade." I'm not clear what this means. Does it mean, for instance, that there is a +2 modifier per each inspired brigade, rather than a +2 bonus for having any inspired brigade?

A: Yes, per brigade. The more inspired brigades, the more the bonus.

Which leader must a unit trace Command Control to? That is, if a unit is within Command Control of its division commander but not its brigade commander, is it within Command Control?

A: It must be within the command control of its lowest level of command. Regiments to brigade leader, unless the Divisional commander is attached to the brigade.

Does Command Control apply to leaders? That is, does a brigade commander need to be within Command Radius of his division commander?

A: For the purpose of LIMITED INTELLIGENCE, the subordinate commander must be within COMMAND CONTROL of the 'sighting' commander. Outside that distance, the subordinate commander has to have a CHANGE OF ORDERS to react to any enemy activity.

Back to Tactical Adjustments: If a brigade is ordered to change formation, can the regiments change to different formations, or all the same? Or must the order be given to specific regiments, and not to the brigade at all?

A: You can either spend TCPs and change individual regiments or order all or some, like the front rank only to change to the same formation. This is a mass/general order to allow adjustment of the brigade. Useful if the brigade was currently in road column and you wanted to deploy the front 3 regiments into a line along a ridge. The units must have movement to do this and are expected to continue this order until completed or the order is changed by either TCPs or Brigade formation change.

Pg. 23, Rule 4.1, item #1, it says that a unit within 3" of the enemy must move into melee. Is this all units, or only those with Assault orders? (I'm not sure if the previous sentence pertains.) Must artillery units move into melee?

A: Only units on ASSAULT orders. Artillery is not expected to move into melee, nor are skirmishers. Once the regiments have assaulted the position and if they fall back to cover, they are not required to move forward unless the commander orders them to.

Pg. 27, rule 4.4.2, item #5, I presume "close range" would be the first column on the combat chart? That is, 5" or less for carbines?

A: Yes.

The two combat examples on pgs. 26 & 27 don't seem to be using the same Firing Table as the one provided with the game.

A: A last adjustment to the charts, and an oversight to the rule example. The proceedure is the same, only the numbers are different.

(Instead, see the examples given in the detailed description here at THE MINIATURES PAGE.)

On the Brigade Morale Results chart, how does one know which units are Attackers or Defenders?

A: Brigades on Assaults are the Attackers. If both are on a Defend order, then the side with the INITIATIVE is considered the Attacker.

On pg. 37, "Rout" is listed as a possibility of a failed Brigade Morale Check, but it is not listed on the Brigade Morale Chart.

A: Consider Retire and Repulsed as Routs.

Do TCP's need to be spent for the benefits listed on pg. 8, rule 0.1.9?

A: No. This happens automatically as part of recovery. TCPs are only spent while engaged in combat.

During which phase do Unengaged Disordered units Regroup?

A: Phase 8 - Morale. At the end of all Morale checks.

At the top of pg. 9, it seems to say that a Pinned unit cannot Regroup. At the bottom of pg. 18, it says otherwise. Which is correct?

A: The difference being that if a leader is directly attached to a PINNED unit it can REGROUP. Otherwise it may not.

On pg. 34, rule 7.0, it says that unit morale is assessed immediately. On pg. 24, it indicates that morale is checked after all combat is resolved. Which is correct?

A: Moving units taking fire from non-moving units assess morale at the end of their movement, if it has (or has taken) 3 hits or more. Other units taking fire from units that moved check as hits are taken.

What is the movement rate for leaders?

A: 20"

On pg. 9, rule 0.1.13, it says that "no more than one point may be spent on any one regiment or battery." Yet on pg. 17, rule 3.2, it says that "only one unit may be adjusted per turn." Does this mean that a leader can adjust only one regiment per turn?

A: A leader can adjust as many units as TCPs. Only one point may be spent per regiment, artillery, unit, etc. In otherwords, a regiment can only be adjusted once per turn by TCPs.

Last Updates
1 July 1996reorganized
28 March 1995gallop, leader point clarifications
27 March 1995designer's answers added
Comments or corrections?