Help support TMP


"Phish attempt via eBay?" Topic


4 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

Please remember not to make new product announcements on the forum. Our advertisers pay for the privilege of making such announcements.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Spam, Hack & Phish Plus Board


Areas of Interest

General

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Link


Featured Ruleset


Featured Showcase Article

28mm BeestWars Hyenas

Strangely intelligent hyenas for BeestWars.


Featured Workbench Article

Deep Dream: Full Metal Katie

We tried getting an AI to 'paint' a mini – but can it convert a person into a mini?


Featured Profile Article

Groundcloths & Battlesheets

Wargame groundcloths as seen at Bayou Wars.


Current Poll


306 hits since 30 Apr 2008
©1994-2026 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

CLDISME10 Dec 2007 7:32 p.m. PST

I received a message through a valid account on eBay asking if I would combine shipping if they won multiple items.

A common question, but, however, several red flags were raised:

1) The account has been active since July, but no feedback. (not uncommon)
2) The spelling was terrible. (again, not uncommon)
3) The item they asked about is a set of miniatures and the screen name is distinctly feminine. (once more, not uncommon)
4) The item referenced is not like any other item I have on the block. So why would they bid on both my "Apples" AND my "Oranges?"

But all of these combined made me take pause. I politely answered the question yes, and made sure my e-mail address was not visible to the recipient.

Fortunately, for me, the item referenced is the last one to end, so I will know if this person was a serious bidder or not.

I will forward the email to eBay just to make sure they have something to watch, but I know all they will say is no eBay rules were violated.

I'm posting this mostly to make the TMP community aware of the possibility of this kind of phish.

Personal logo Murphy Sponsoring Member of TMP10 Dec 2007 10:53 p.m. PST

Whenever you get something like this send it to spoof@ebay.com. They'll let you know if it's legit or not.

99% of the time it's not.

SheWolf11 Dec 2007 3:42 p.m. PST

I got one the other day in "response" to ask the seller.

Souupsedly I went crazy and was threatening the seller. I never heard of this guy. So I checked my ebay account, and the message (surprise!) wasn't there.

Then I looked at the links, and they were ip/~mike/ebay.c om. Forwarded to spoof.

Bob Runnicles11 Dec 2007 8:07 p.m. PST

I've had several attempts recently to promote me to a 'power seller' despite the fact that my selling activities only occur in short bursts. More worringly I've had a number of people tell me that someone has been contacting them claiming to be me and that an item they had bid on but failed to win was available – but obviously not using my screen name or anything else related to me. In one case they contacted a guy who bid $3.03 USD (the item sold for $152.50!)…..I told him if I were him I'd pick up several for that price :)

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.