Help support TMP


"Live Free or Die Rules - Some Questions" Topic


3 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

Please be courteous toward your fellow TMP members.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the 18th Century Discussion Message Board

Back to the American Revolution Message Board


Areas of Interest

18th Century

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Link


Top-Rated Ruleset

Loose Files and American Scramble


Rating: gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star 


Featured Showcase Article

28mm Acolyte Vampires - Based

The Acolyte Vampires return - based, now, and ready for the game table.


Featured Profile Article

First Look: Barrage's 28mm Streets & Sidewalks

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian looks at some new terrain products, which use space age technology!


Featured Book Review


360 hits since 20 Sep 2022
©1994-2022 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?


TMP logo

Membership

Please sign in to your membership account, or, if you are not yet a member, please sign up for your free membership account.
TangoOneThreeAlpha20 Sep 2022 8:44 a.m. PST

Hi

Couple of questions for anyone using the 'Little Wars TV', 'Live Free or Die' AWI rules.

If you pay the command points to attach a leader/lieutenant to a unit, can he stay attached on subsequent turns without paying the command points again? My gut feeling is that you have to pay the command points each turn that you want the leader to be attched to get the bonus die rolls for firing and shooting, but will be very interested to hear how others interprete the rules.

And if a unit charges but fails to contact can it still shoot (bearing in mind that charges are conducted before shooting and moving in the turn sequence)?

And lastly, does anyone have a contact e-mail address for the Little Wars TV people so that I can ask them questions about the rules direct?

I really do like these pretty 'simple' rules but they can be a bit ambiguous in places.

Many thanks

Paul

6mmACW22 Sep 2022 5:06 a.m. PST

Paul--

Simply attaching and detaching commanders is free--no command points spent. And they can remain attached multiple turns if you like. And the relevant bonuses to shooting/melee/morale apply for free. Of course, there's a major risk to being attached to a front line unit….

Using an action like "Rally" (which does require a commander to be attached) costs Command Points each time you take it.

Yes--units who fail to charge can still fire in the shooting phase. They cannot Volley (because they attempted to move, and no moving units can Volley). But they could take hasty fire.

littlewarstv@gmail.com and we have an active Facebook Group for the rules where folks pose questions! A 4-5 page game certainly leaves some room for interpretation.

TangoOneThreeAlpha22 Sep 2022 12:15 p.m. PST

Hi

Gregg? Many thanks for the clarifications and to you and the others at Little Wars TV for a great set of rules.

Passed close to York back in August driving from NYC to Gettysburg…..

Cheers Paul

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.