Help support TMP

"What would had been the best course of action for ...." Topic

17 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the WWII Discussion Message Board

655 hits since 22 May 2018
©1994-2018 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Tango0122 May 2018 9:30 p.m. PST

…Germany after defeating France?.

Interesting thread here….

link

Amicalement
Armand

deephorse23 May 2018 10:36 a.m. PST

Say they were sorry, it's all been a big mistake, and you can all have your countries back.

Xintao23 May 2018 11:09 a.m. PST

I found this video a couple of months ago, I thought it was interesting. This sort of addresses Germany's actions after France, it had no choice.

YouTube link

Disclaimer:As for it's accuracy, no idea, as I am a WWII noob.

Tango0123 May 2018 12:26 p.m. PST

(smile)

Amicalement
Armand

Wolfhag23 May 2018 12:39 p.m. PST

+1 for Xintao. He needed oil and land. That's probably how he got the industrialists to back him.

Wolfhag

Mark 123 May 2018 4:44 p.m. PST

This sort of addresses Germany's actions after France, it had no choice.

YouTube link

A very interesting video! Thanks for posting the link.

The video makes a well-reasoned point that WW2 was really a war about oil. I would add that even if some of the participants didn't recognize it as their motive or state it as their explicit war goal, WW2 was a war that ebbed and flowed and resolved based on oil.

The case is made that Germany, by early 1941, could see that it would run out of oil in the fall of 1941 if it didn't either end the British blockade (preventing imports of oil), or grab the Soviet oil fields. And looking at German operations, it seems that indeed the Germans reached a crisis state in about October of 1941.