Help support TMP

"King's Royal Rifle Corp - Sudan" Topic

10 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the 19th Century Painting Guides Message Board

392 hits since 6 Dec 2017
©1994-2017 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Khartoum Maxim06 Dec 2017 6:52 a.m. PST

I am putting together a British field force for the Sudan Campaign, I have built some Perry plastics to represent the rifle corp, but keep coming across conflicting information with regards to the uniform. Some sources have them wearing rifle green, others grey serge and I have come across colour plates with the riflemen wearing khaki. I am relatively new to historical wargaming, is there wiggle room when it comes to uniforms? Particularly when there isn't solid evidence.

VCarter Supporting Member of TMP06 Dec 2017 7:09 a.m. PST

More than just wiggle room on my table.

In this case you want Rifle Corp, do them in green.

99% of the gamers will see the unit and know what it is. The other 1% will say it's the wrong shade of green are a-holes.

Two examples from my own collection:

1) My Zulu war 24th foot all have bright white helmets.

2) My local force Viet Cong with some figures wearing rice paddy hats. Nothing says VC to most people than that.

Personal logo aegiscg47 Supporting Member of TMP06 Dec 2017 7:18 a.m. PST

Yes, the KRRC is one of those units where there are several sources citing different variations on their dress. A few have them in khaki, but one source had them in their black green until the start of WW1! I think you could go either way and no one could prove you wrong, plus you need to choose what you think would look best on your tabletop.

foxweasel Supporting Member of TMP06 Dec 2017 7:33 a.m. PST