Help support TMP

"Shooting through other models" Topic

9 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the Warhammer 40K Message Board

424 hits since 1 Oct 2017
©1994-2017 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

ScottWashburn Sponsoring Member of TMP01 Oct 2017 1:53 p.m. PST

I played in a 40K tournament yesterday. had a lot of fun and won a prize for best-painted army. But one ruling that the guy in charge made has me puzzled. I asked whether tall units like a vehicle or dreadnought were allowed to fire over friendly troops in front of them. I'm still new to 8th edition and couldn't remember if this was the case. The ruling said that NO models, friend or enemy, block fire! Now I'm pretty sure that's wrong. The rules state that models in the firing figure's own unit don't block fire, but is says only that other than that it is WYSIWYG. Does that mean that if I can crouch down and stare along the barrel of a gun and see even the teeny tiniest part of a enemy model, I can fire at it even though I'm shooting clear across the table through two friendly units and three enemy units?

Personal logo Cacique Caribe Supporting Member of TMP01 Oct 2017 1:56 p.m. PST

"I beg your pardon Sire, won't we hit our own troops?"

Dan
https://m.imgur.com/9E9JTmT

The H Man01 Oct 2017 6:39 p.m. PST

This has already been covered (pardon the pun) on this board. Just scroll down the list.

40k madness what the heck does line of sight even mean.

Look for that.

Puddinhead Johnson03 Oct 2017 1:27 p.m. PST

Does that mean that if I can crouch down and stare along the barrel of a gun and see even the teeny tiniest part of a enemy model, I can fire at it even though I'm shooting clear across the table through two friendly units and three enemy units?