Help support TMP

"our latest and greatest take on One-Hour Wargames " Topic

5 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the Getting Started with Medievals Message Board

Back to the Blogs of War Message Board

Back to the Dark Ages Message Board

Back to the Medieval Discussion Message Board

608 hits since 28 Aug 2017
©1994-2017 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Queen Catherine29 Aug 2017 3:42 p.m. PST

Well, we spent a ton of time, effort, playtesting, and cold-testing with everyone from total newbies to minis to people with 50+ years of miniatures, and from 1-1 games to 3 on 3 games.

Here's our take on early medieval / late dark ages rules, which we have focused more towards Feudal period. However, two "Dark Ages" types in the form of cavalry and light cavalry with javelins are distinctly present, and several of the list suggestions in the force matrix area are late Dark Ages, really.

I think these would be excellent for any beginners to the game, altho the "One-Hour Wargames" book would be useful for scenarios.

link

I'm very pleased with them. Even though I'm not necessarily the driving force I feel they check all the boxes for me, including some I didn't know I wanted before I bought my copy of OHW:
- decision-driven
- Scenario-focused
- tactically interesting
- reward mastery of historical / game tactics
- fast-play
- relatively few pages of rules
- tight mechanics
- ready to play for the 90% of battles
- easy to tweak for scenarios
We learned a lot about both game mechanics and the "physicality" of wargaming as we figured out ways to drastically cut down on time spend puttering around with bases and figs.

It's been a great time, and we're looking forward to a lot of interesting games in the future.