Help support TMP


"Legacy of Glory rules?." Topic


9 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Napoleonic Battle Reports Message Board



543 hits since 4 Jun 2017
©1994-2017 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Arch Duke charles Inactive Member05 Jun 2017 11:31 a.m. PST

Hi
I was playing a game the other day and this came up, When a wave test and loses the assault assessment roll and loses an FML, is this placed on the wave that fell back, or do's the whole Division receive the FML lose?.
Thanks
Darren

JonFreitag05 Jun 2017 2:55 p.m. PST

Somebody PLAYS LoG?

Garryowen Supporting Member of TMP05 Jun 2017 4:48 p.m. PST

I thought it really looked like a great game, but I was never smart enough to figure out how to play it!

Tom

Marc at work06 Jun 2017 4:44 a.m. PST

Wave?

Assault assessment?

FML?


Wow… What are these rules?

The Wargaming Company06 Jun 2017 6:13 a.m. PST

Arch Duke Charles,

The entire GTF (division) takes the FML loss.

Once upon a time, before we designed Et sans résultat!, we played a lot of LoG. ESR gives us all the grand tactical goodness that LoG promised but minus the complexity that made it so painful for many.

-TWC
thewargamingcompany.com

Arch Duke charles Inactive Member06 Jun 2017 9:16 a.m. PST

Thank you TWC for the clearing that up for me, I thought I was getting it wrong.
Another question that came up, was about skirmisher's, if the enemy line troops have no skirmisher's coving there front do you get to fire with your skirmisher's on to there line and the line fires back?.
In the rules you have a phase for skirmisher's face off and you roll to see who wins the skirmish phase you can push back the enemy skirmisher's it says you can fire on the line units behind with a chance to inflict hits, that I understand, but there is nothing in the rules to cover just shooting up line units that have no skirmish cover?
Thanks
Darren

marshalGreg06 Jun 2017 9:43 a.m. PST

ADC
The skirmish phase combat still goes/"must be conducted" but, the side W/O skirmish specific troops available still is considered to throw skirmishers out as defense.
They will conduct the skirmish combat at a reduced ability presented by a low or lack of a modifier.

Hope this helps

MG

Arch Duke charles Inactive Member06 Jun 2017 10:51 p.m. PST

The thing is that the Austrians did not have skirmisher's in there line units. In the game I destroyed the Grenzers facing me and my skirmishers just stood 2 inches away the next turn and did nothing to the Austrian line units, as there where no enemy skirmishers facing them.
so do you give a % chance for your skirmishers to shot at the line units and the line unit fires back ?.
Darren

marshalGreg07 Jun 2017 4:48 a.m. PST

and yes they did ( definitely after 1805). The Aust line infantry had the the third rank or they could assigned zuge or 2 to do so.
I did not say they were skirmish specific trained and good at it, just ones thrown out there with NCOs leading them to do a job!
So there would still be the skirmish combat conducted to determine the extent of fire you would have, once the inferior skirmish screen was inevitably or typically defeated.
MG

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.