Help support TMP


"Troubles with Flashpoint's site?" Topic


13 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

Remember that you can Stifle members so that you don't have to read their posts.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Consumer Affairs Message Board


Action Log

16 May 2013 9:16 a.m. PST
by Editor in Chief Bill

  • Changed title from "Troubles with Flashpoints site?" to "Troubles with Flashpoint's site?"
  • Removed from Modern Product Reviews board
  • Crossposted to Consumer Affairs board

Areas of Interest

General

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Recent Link


Featured Ruleset

Rencounter


Rating: gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star 


Featured Showcase Article

Stuff It! (In a Box)

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian worries about not losing his rules stuff.


Featured Profile Article

Editor Gwen Says Thanks

Personal logo Editor Gwen The Editor of TMP thanks you for your donations.


Current Poll


943 hits since 16 May 2013
©1994-2026 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?


TMP logo

Membership

Please sign in to your membership account, or, if you are not yet a member, please sign up for your free membership account.
Alcibiades16 May 2013 8:26 a.m. PST

Tried to get onto Flashpoint's site this morning to order some more NVA and couldn't access the site. Is it just me or are others having difficulties?

Cheers
Kent

Darby E16 May 2013 12:07 p.m. PST
Personal logo Extra Crispy Sponsoring Member of TMP16 May 2013 12:42 p.m. PST

Works for me too.

I'd offer to steal your business at ScaleCreep.com but I'm pretty near sold out of the entire range!

capt jimmi21 May 2013 4:30 a.m. PST

Hi Alcibades, I heard on the jungle-drums that you'd had a problem with the Flashpoint site. Can't figure what it might be… contact me here if you still having problems.

admin@flashpoint-miniatures.com

We have all the 'usual' spam issues I'm sure every website has , and at least three serial-pest IP addresses that we 'track' ..but as far as I know the website has had no problems. Please let me know if/how your experience is different.

Cheers ! Happy Gaming !

badwargamer08 Jun 2013 3:13 a.m. PST

Just had a problem too…..virus software ended up blocking the site due to some sort of 'black hole' problem or something…most strange

badwargamer08 Jun 2013 3:19 a.m. PST

Just checked again.
As it tries to load page the virus software (AVG) comes up with a box that says that 'Accessed file is infected'
It states the threat is "Exploit Blackhole Exploit Kit (Type 2704)"

Looked on the AVG site and it says:-

What is Blackhole Exploit Kit?

Blackhole Exploit Kit is caused by a code that can be hacked into a webpage. When you browse to a webpage with Blackhole Exploit Kit, it will identify and make use of the vulnerabilities in your internet browser/plugins and force adware, phishing programs or any other type of fraudulent software to be installed on your device

Marc33594 Supporting Member of TMP09 Jun 2013 9:59 a.m. PST

Norton the same only web attack: mass injection is the warning.

capt jimmi10 Jun 2013 3:42 a.m. PST

Hi team ! …Yes I became aware of this on friday afternoon here in Aus …just before this long weekend ! I have scanned and mal-wared the Wordpress site …and revealed nothing. A bit of research further suggests an app to the host server to do with Wordpress is the likely source/site of any 'infection'. A bit more Googling suggests it is a 'false-positive' response,(/virus?)to updated Symantec anti-virals (I get the same message as Marc33594 on my Norton-protected laptop)..my other computer (with latest McAfee and anti-malware) has no problems.!! Anyway…will be onto the Webhost tomorrow and will get it sorted.
…This is what they don't teach in "Miniatures Manufacturer" school. LOL ! Cheers !

capt jimmi11 Jun 2013 4:37 a.m. PST

Hi All !, webhost has sorted problem/removed virus. All locks and keys have been changed. Apparently a deliberate hack to a Wordpress plug-in, that is designed to give the impression of the virus that directs you to 'exploit-kit' hosted sites. In short it's meant to look real scary, but it's function is to trip your anti-malware into blocking the site. …a "denial-of-service" virus if you like. I've just done a Sucuri scan , and I'm still 'blacklisted' to AVG and Sophos, but Google, Norton and the rest declare me 'clean'. (Of course…if I pay Sucuri $90 USD they will lift my blacklist, but I'm happy to wait.)
BTW this Deliberate hack happened on the Friday of our article in the 'Campaigner' e-magazine ! Yet another timely coincidence.! …I wonder if this has anything to do with our main competitors in 15mm Vietnam miniatures ? LOL. !

Miniatures Of Chesapeake12 Jun 2013 11:00 a.m. PST

Jimmi

Norton just blocked me out also. Says some kind of web attack.

Still got good inventory of stuff for any one interested.

Also will be set up at HISTORICON 2013 (July 18 – 21). 2013 with Cotton Jim's Flags.

badwargamer14 Jun 2013 2:23 p.m. PST

Bleeped text, I'm AVG, so still can't get on it, oh well, I can let my lead mountain stay at this level for a while!

badwargamer14 Jun 2013 2:29 p.m. PST

Actually looks like I can use the site, just get loads of threat blocked messages popping up!

capt jimmi19 Jun 2013 5:24 a.m. PST

Hi again! …Yes we got hacked again !
I just came back from visiting Sydney and saw a pile of messages/emails …thankyou guys for the heads up. !
Have found and fixed the problem (another Denial-Of-Service 'virus') as of about midday today (about ten hours ago),have upgraded everything and got more and new anti-malware etc etc layers happening. Think I can see where/how they got 'in'.
It is still opening for me no problems (I have Norton on my laptop)
Should be all good ! Give it a try and let me know if you have problems… Thanks for all the kind attention/advice !
….All the best !

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.