Help support TMP

"Large Board Small Force?" Topic

33 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the WWII Scenarios Message Board

Back to the WWII Rules Message Board

1,154 hits since 14 Dec 2012
©1994-2014 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Archeopteryx Inactive Member14 Dec 2012 8:52 a.m. PST

I'm just getting into 15mm WW2, so please forgive me if I am going over old ground….

I'm interested in manoeuvre – for me its enhanced possiblilty is the critcal difference with WW2 from other periods…

most tabletop gsmes – in any period – begin with the period of manoeuvre complete – the forces are set up post-recce with the commanders having postioned their forces for battle… But that kinda negatates much of the tactical art, and the advantanges and disadvantages of different terrain and troop types….

But platoon and company level gaming on a reasonably big board with small forces (a couple of platoons) offers the potential for recce, manoeuvre, good use of terrain and concealed and/or night approaches and outflanking moves before contact…. If the objective is unambiguous – a bridge or stronghold for example (so both forces dont go on a fairly boring merry dance around the table), these moves can be as much fun as the pretty static "move and fire, move and fire" routine that many games decend into …

Is anyone trying this – and which rules are best suited?

Dynaman878914 Dec 2012 9:05 a.m. PST

Command Decision does this. But it is a higher level with each stand being a platoon.

It would need to be a LARGE table for effective manoevre, even at 6mm scale a 6 foot by 4 foot table would be 600 by 400 yards or so, just enough for a company to cover the short way with a reserve platoon, and with no reserve to cover the long way as well.