Help support TMP

"Child Guidance (celluloid) buildings...what glue to use?" Topic

9 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the 15mm Sci-Fi Message Board

Back to the Zombies Message Board

642 hits since 21 Nov 2012
©1994-2014 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

geekygamer21 Nov 2012 4:40 p.m. PST

I recently won a CG lot on eBay for my new urban 15mm zombie landscape. It will be my first time working with celluloid. For those of you that have assembled CG kits, what glue works well?

I read that it is super flammable…anything else I should be aware of?

DyeHard21 Nov 2012 7:26 p.m. PST

I have no direct experience with Guidancetown. But I do know a bit about plastics. And I am pretty sure the term "celluloid" has nothing to with the buildings. I suspect it was thrown in to get more hits on ebay searches.

The building look like polystyrene to me, so classic model airplane glue should work. The kits are designed to be built without glue. But I suspect the locking parts may be brittle by now, so gluing might become needed.

With plastic there are two ways to go. Welding (which is what classic model glues do) that is soften the plastic until it flows together. For this type you do need to know what type of plastic you are working with. Or true gluing, this could be done with CA (Super Glue) or a urethane like gorilla glue. Here the original parts are not affected (hopefully), and you do not need to know what type of plastic it is.

This is an old manual for the toy, but no mention of glue:
link

CAPTAIN BEEFHEART21 Nov 2012 9:18 p.m. PST

Too Blurry to read but if it is plastic, the airplane glue should work. When in doubt, epoxy will out!

Lion in the Stars21 Nov 2012 11:33 p.m. PST

Plastruct Plasti-Weld.