Help support TMP

"Questions on Custer" Topic

49 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to The Old West Message Board

1,360 hits since 6 Sep 2012
©1994-2014 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Korvessa06 Sep 2012 8:42 a.m. PST

So I found a new Custer book on sale for $7. USD The Last Stand by Philbrick. I just started it – so can't comment yet. So anyway, this lead me to reviewing some old TMP posts. I am no expert, but I have read a half dozen books or so and been to the battlefield. But there are some questions that I have:
1) It seems to me blaming Custer for national policy is a bit unfair. He was opnly a lt colonel.
2) It is understandable he wouldn't believe reports on the size of the native encampment. Wasn't it one of the largest gatherings of natives in centuries? Plus, his experience with McClellan always over estimating the enemy may have ben on his mind (my thoughts only).
3) I suspect that not a man in any of the three collumns thought the Indians would stand and fight like they did. It seemed like all the decisions were based on the fear that they couldn't find them and then they would just get away like they always did before.