Help support TMP

"Modifying 1/35 scale figures" Topic

7 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the Sculpting Message Board

1,287 hits since 21 Dec 2011
©1994-2014 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Drac Blau Inactive Member21 Dec 2011 11:48 a.m. PST

I am new here, and don't really sculpt miniature figures. I am a model builder though, and am wanting to modify 1/35 scale military figures and thought this was the perfect place to ask.

I was thinking of using Milliput or Magic Sculpt for the modifications. Are these suitable products for this purpose or should I invest in some green stuff?

Thanks,
Alex

DeanMoto Inactive Member21 Dec 2011 12:19 p.m. PST

Alex:

If you're talking plastics, I used to use a hot knife for cutting & bending limbs, etc. The "hot knife" being an old Xacto blade heated with the flame from a burning candle. I also use to use heated (burning) sprue for conversions not recommended as it is similar to what I'd expect Greek Fire would've been like. That all said, there are plastic filler prodcuts like the type in a tube from Tamiya, etc. I hadn't had very good results with those other than for flowing manes and plumes/crests. I think Milliput is what the pros would use on plastic conversion. Best, Dean

ming3121 Dec 2011 1:25 p.m. PST

Shepard paine did some books on diarama building , which oincluded figure modifacation . I prefer magic sculpt after the cut and reposition .

Rubber Suit Theatre21 Dec 2011 5:44 p.m. PST