Help support TMP


"Wargaming World.... Buyer Beware?" Topic


44 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

Please don't make fun of others' membernames.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Consumer Affairs Message Board


Areas of Interest

General

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Link


Featured Ruleset


Featured Profile Article

Gen Con So Cal 2006 Report

Wyatt the Odd Fezian reports from the final California Gen Con...


Current Poll


5,840 hits since 6 May 2008
©1994-2026 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?


TMP logo

Membership

Please sign in to your membership account, or, if you are not yet a member, please sign up for your free membership account.
Dewbakuk06 May 2008 2:27 a.m. PST

Hello all.

Has anyone had dealings with Wargaming World at all? wargamingworld.co.uk

I placed an order with them two weeks ago and other than an automated email, heard nothing. Normally I'm more patient than this and will give them the benefit of the doubt however, it turns out a friend of mine placed an order with them a couple of days before and he hasn't heard anything either.

I think the main reason I'm impatiant is their website updates you on the status of your order. One day after I paid (they use Worldpay so yes, I have paid upfront) the order was "sent for packing". It hasn't changed since. The same with my friends order.

I'm a little concerned as the website breaches UK law in that it doesn't list a physical contact address or contact telephone number.

My friend was able to find a phone number on some forum that says they run an evening club, however it always goes to voicemail and he hasn't had a reply.

Also, he spoke to a friend at Esdevium (the UK distributor for some of the items they sell) and he can't find them on their customer list.

All the above is starting to make me a little concerned. It wasn't a huge order, £23, but I still don't want to lose it.

Chortle Fezian06 May 2008 3:52 a.m. PST

I found this site

wargamingworldscam.co.uk

But I can't get the web site to load.

From wargamingworld.co.uk:
> Free postage Worldwide.
> We wont be beaten on price.
> Free gift worth £10.00 GBP with every order over £100.00 GBP

Too good to be true? I'm hoping it is true for your sake :)

Chortle Fezian06 May 2008 3:57 a.m. PST

I loaded the google cached site for wargamingworldscam.co.uk

Scammed by wargamingworld.co.uk?
0
0
Email: admin@wargamingworldscam.co.uk

Have you been scammed by this website?
wargamingworld.co.uk

wargamingworld.co.uk

E-mail me direct with evidence. Forums showing a plethoria of evidence will be revealed soon.

Dewbakuk06 May 2008 6:21 a.m. PST

Not looking good currently.

cloudcaptain06 May 2008 8:08 a.m. PST

Judging from the fact they cloaked their WHOIS information for their domain…and the information they listed is unprofessional (Registrant field):

Domain name:
wargamingworld.co.uk

Registrant:
Chris from Fuchs Oils LOL

Registrant type:
UK Individual

Registrant's address:
The registrant is a non-trading individual who has opted to have their
address omitted from the WHOIS service.

Registrar:
Fasthosts Internet Ltd [Tag = FASTHOSTS]
URL: fasthosts.co.uk

Relevant dates:
Registered on: 22-Jun-2007
Renewal date: 22-Jun-2009
Last updated: 03-Jul-2007

Registration status:
Registered until renewal date.

Name servers:
ns1.uk.g00gl3r.com
ns2.uk.g00gl3r.com

….it does not look too good. They can still be found via the webhost with a subpoena if all else fails.

Broken Halo06 May 2008 9:03 a.m. PST

…reminds me of NEW WAVE.

Dewbakuk06 May 2008 9:54 a.m. PST

Hmm, this isn't looking good at all is it? I do have a physical address found via Google business. Anyone in Stoke-on-Trent want to swing past and see if it's a shop or a house?

cohort06 May 2008 10:42 a.m. PST

I live in Stoke on Trent tell me where and I'll go and find out.

Dewbakuk06 May 2008 1:51 p.m. PST

Not sure where it is, but their registered business address is

1a Barford Street,
Longton,
Stoke On Trent,
Staffordshire,
ST3 2NN,
UK

I think we'd all like to know now, if it's possible, thanks.

(And I have no problem posting this address as it's a registered, publically accessible, business address)

Artemis06 May 2008 2:08 p.m. PST

link

Been discussed previously sorry.

They have also closed the forum i mention there to new members seemingly. At least when I tried to register I couldn't and previously I could see the forum without needing to be a member.

Still the fact that they have a sister site might help you get in contact to threaten them a bit :)

Dewbakuk06 May 2008 2:16 p.m. PST

Ah, thanks Artemis. I'd been told about that thread but couldn't find it!

Okay, the sister website lists the address as 40a Barford Street, so the above one could be slightly wrong.

Artemis06 May 2008 3:09 p.m. PST

Active in Jan 2008 on forums
link

Here he claims to have two B&M stores
link

And here to be taking £3-400 a day
link

It seems that despite being active on that forum until March it was around pre February that they started actively scamming people.

There's the Frothers thread above which is a direct result of this previous thread from late Feb
link

This is a Google cache of two people complaining starting in March
link

A Google cache of his forum and him posting quite normally there in feb/mar 2008
link

A possible mirror of his forum which has been killed by spambots after getting abandoned a couple months ago
link

Whoa, just found his Ebay account, seriously NARU'd…
auction

Try dropping someone like Jules at Figures in Comfort an email and asking for the contact info he has as the store claims to stock their stuff. He might also care his stuff is associated with a scam artist.

Artemis06 May 2008 3:13 p.m. PST

Not a mirror of the forum, just the precursor and was abandoned last year sorry.

Dewbakuk06 May 2008 4:34 p.m. PST

I'll drop a few emails after/if Cohort is able to swing past and check there's even a store.

The latest Privateer Press mag has an advert for them in it. They'll be getting an email too.

Dan Cyr06 May 2008 7:28 p.m. PST

Sad actually as I had a number of 25 mm Front Rank SYW units painted by Chris' business a few years back and got great service and quality. At that time there was a B&M store.

Dan

Chortle Fezian06 May 2008 8:11 p.m. PST

You probably already contacted whoever you used to pay this company. But if not get in contact to try to get a refund and put a stop to payments flowing to the company. Presumably there will be other people complaining and eventually worldpay, visa, or whoever will stop payments.

Gnu200007 May 2008 5:08 a.m. PST

Don't know if it helps, but Wargamesworld was run by a guy going by the name of Chris Abbey.

UK Mark07 May 2008 6:22 a.m. PST

Chris Abbey did run Wargames World. Last time I heard he was living outside Otley in West Yorkshire. I dont think this is the same guy as is running this scam.

Dan – Chris used to get a lot of his figures painted by Olicana Painting Services here in ilkley. It was James at Olicana that provided the service and quality.

Dewbakuk07 May 2008 7:54 a.m. PST

Making a slight distinction, Wargames World operated out of Ilkley and St Helens. It closed down and was bought by ID Gaming quite a long time ago.

Wargaming World is "supposedly" a shop in Stoke-on-Trent with what seems to be a scam webstore.

Dan Cyr07 May 2008 9:56 a.m. PST

UK Mark, does James still take painting commissions? If so, please send me a name and e-mail address.

Thanks,

Dan

UK Mark07 May 2008 11:33 p.m. PST

Dan – He is a full time figure painter and does still take commissions.

His email is jlaroach at blueyonder.co.uk

He has a new blog at

olicanalad.blogspot.com

duffybear198808 May 2008 12:08 p.m. PST

hi everyone I also have had trouble with this guy. When I did a quick search to check the website out this forum was not picked up on google so I thought the site was legitimate. How wrong I was! Now I am £100.00 GBP poorer. Does anyone know if there is a way to claim our money back?

Dewbakuk08 May 2008 1:02 p.m. PST

If your order was placed with a credit card, do a charge back. Call your company, they'll pull the money back for you. If you paid via debit card then you need to have left it 28 days. After that it's a breach of the terms and you can talk to your bank about them getting it back, not easy though, and the route I'm going to have to go down.

duffybear198808 May 2008 1:23 p.m. PST

Thanks very much Dewbakuk… I guess im going to have to wait a while then. I did call my bank earlier and they just told me there was nothing they could do EVER! But I will try again after 28 days.

Crusaderminis09 May 2008 2:15 a.m. PST

Get in touch with Worldpay who processed the transaction – by the looks of the site that is who they use.

Worldpay hold onto the money for 28 days before passing it onto the trader – or at least they did when I used them.

They may be able to help or at the very least look into this guys' transactions. Might help in sorting it out one way or the other.

Dewbakuk09 May 2008 3:24 a.m. PST

I looked at the Worldpay site, it says they can't issue refunds as they don't have anything to do with the transaction other than enabling a business to take cards. I'll drop them an email though.

Dewbakuk09 May 2008 5:29 a.m. PST

I've had a quick email exchange with Worldpay, they reply very quickly. They can't/won't give me a refund but will look into the webstore and if they find there is an issue, will withdraw their service. I suggest the others who've had trouble use the Worldpay contact form to complain as well. Won't get our money back from them but we might get the Bleeped texters shut down.

duffybear198809 May 2008 7:54 a.m. PST

I have contacted worldpay as well

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.